In 1986, the Education Foundation’s first scholarships were established. This year, the Foundation proudly awards the following 15 scholarships totaling $12,750:

Frank W. Barr Memorial Scholarship—was established in 1990 in honor of the 2nd Superintendent of the school system who served from 1964 to 1979. Dr. Barr was a member of many professional educational organizations as well as a member of many community groups. The $500.00 scholarship is being awarded to a senior who will pursue a humanities and/or liberal arts major at a college of university. Claudia Taylor

Bruce Linden Cherkala Memorial Scholarship—was created in 1991 by the Cherkala family as a memory to their son, Bruce, who graduated from Fairview High School in 1968. While at FHS, Bruce was an honor student, letterman in football and tennis. Bruce went on to graduate from Denison University and then Case Western Reserve School of Medicine with a M.D. degree. Bruce passed away suddenly in 1982. This $500.00 scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who will pursue science or mathematics at a college or university. Sarah Clark

Business Advisory Council/Richard Nicoloff Memorial Scholarship—this $500.00 scholarship has been ongoing for many years with the Business Advisory Council, but beginning in 2008, it was named in memory of Richard Nicoloff. Richard passed away suddenly in September of 2007 and was a strong proponent of education. He held two master degrees and had a career in banking that took place at the Cleveland branch of the Federal Reserve and at National City Bank. Two of his children are graduates of Fairview High School and his wife Judy is a long time member of the Business Advisory Council and was named Chamber of Commerce’s Business Person of the Year. Austin Zavodny

Coca Cola Scholarship – was established in 2007 through the Coca Cola Bottling Company. This year we have one $2,000.00 scholarship and one $1,000.00 scholarships to be awarded. Criteria for these scholarships are overall academic/community and school achievement. The $2,000 scholarship recipient for this year is Elanda Goduni and the $1,000 scholarship recipient is Cass Stadnik.

Maureen Cundiff Memorial Scholarship – established as a scholarship in 2007 through donations made by community and friends for the Cundiff Family. Maureen was a very active person in the community, including being a member of the board of education, president of PTA, member of the Gemini Committee and many more organizations.   She gave so much of herself to her family and community that having a scholarship in her memory is a wonderful way to remember her. The scholarship is a $500.00 scholarship and the scholarship is to be awarded to an outstanding female varsity athletic. Rakayla Iwais

Laura Dean Scholarship Memorial Scholarship—established in March 2001 through a bequest of funding from the estate of a former Fairview Park teacher and former Fairview High principal, Laura Dean. Ms. Dean’s teaching and administrative career in the Fairview Park Schools began in 1929 and lasted for 45 years. Her first assignment was teaching mathematics to elementary students and later serving as the second principal of Fairview High School. It was at her request that the scholarship awards be given to young women pursuing careers in mathematics or in the field of applied mathematics. We have one $1,000.00 scholarship being awarded to a deserving graduating female senior this year. Helen Becker Smotzer

Fred J. & Betty J. Helwig Scholarship—a scholarship given in the names of their parents’ honor by the Helwig children. The scholarship was created in 1999 and funded each year by the Helwig children. The two scholarships of $1,000 each are awarded to hard-working students who demonstrate initiative, self-motivation and a desire to achieve. In addition to the scholarship award, the scholarship recipient’s names will be added to a permanent plaque that hangs in the Fairview High School halls to commemorate this award. Jessica Thompson and John Corcoran

Mary Hoertz Memorial Scholarship—a $250.00 scholarship is given to a graduating senior who has shown leadership, community involvement, school participation and academic ability. Jacob Ziek

Michael Holick Memorial Scholarship—this $1,000.00 scholarship was established in 2008 by the Holick family. Michael Holick was proud to be a resident of Fairview Park for 56 years and loved his community. He was married to Jeanne (Terek) in 1951 and his four children are all graduates of Fairview High School. His talents as a master finish carpenter for 56 years are appreciated today as he is responsible for building his family home and homes for his children in Fairview Park, in addition to rebuilding the corner of West 204th Street and Lorain Road. He was also involved with many building, renovating and remodeling projects in the Cleveland vicinity. Michael was an active member of the Carpenters Local Union 1108 and the memory of his talents, love and support of his family and pride in his city will shine forever. Rebecca Corrigan

Robert V. Kundmueller Memorial Scholarship— was established in 1998 by the Kundmueller Family and funded on behalf of the proceeds from the Foundation’s annual fundraiser, the Robert V. Kundmueller Memorial Golf Tournament.   Since its inception, eighteen years ago, proceeds totaled $100,000 from the golf outing. Bob was the Foundation’s founding treasurer and trustee in addition to a local business owner in the City of Fairview Park for many years. Having six children educated in the Fairview School System, Bob was a strong advocate and supporter of the Fairview schools, numerous civic organizations and a FP Citizen of the Year recipient. The scholarship is for $2,000.00. Halley Novak

Lewis F. Mayer Memorial Scholarship—a $500.00 scholarship is awarded to an outstanding Fairview High School senior, in memory of Mr. Mayer, a humanitarian of Fairview Park, an educator, principal and the first superintendent of the Fairview Park Schools, serving from 1921 to 1964. Olivia Hvizdos

Medical Mutual Scholarship—this $500.00 scholarship was established in 2008 and is made available through the Health Insurance Plan that the Fairview Park City School District participates in. This will be a yearly scholarship awarded to a student with both a combined outstanding academic achievement and economic need. Lauren Belliveau

Nelson Russ Memorial Scholarship—established in 2001 by Mrs. Fern Russ, in memory of her late husband, Nelson. Mr. Russ served as the Recreational Director for Fairview Park, served on the Fairview Park City Council and was one of our City’s Citizens of the Year. Mr. Russ served three decades on the faculty at Fairview High and distinguished himself as Fairview High School’s first Varsity football coach. The $500.00 scholarship is given for academic and athletic excellence, preferably in the sport of football. Gage Falcone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *