Frank W. Barr Memorial Scholarship – was established in 1990 in honor of the 2nd Superintendent of our school system who served from 1964 to 1979. Dr. Barr was a member of many professional educational organizations as well as a member of many community groups. The $500.00 scholarship is being awarded to a senior who will pursue a humanities and/or liberal arts major at a college of university.  Tyler Mattson

Bruce Linden Cherkala Memorial Scholarship – was created in 1991 by the Cherkala family as a memory to their son, Bruce, who graduated from Fairview High School in 1968. While at FHS, Bruce was an honor student and letterman in football and tennis. Bruce went on to graduate from Denison University and the Case Western Reserve School of Medicine with a M.D. degree. Bruce passed away suddenly in 1982. This $500.00 scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who will pursue science or mathematics at a college or university. Teresa Mills

Coca Cola Scholarship – was established in 2007 through the Coca Cola Bottling Company. Two $1,000.00 scholarships are awarded yearly. The criteria for this scholarship is overall academic/community and school achievement. Julia Vandra and Emily Aldrich

Maureen Cundiff Memorial Scholarship – was established in 2007 through donations made by the community and friends for the Cundiff Family. Maureen was a very active person in the community, including being a member of the board of education, president of PTA, member of the Gemini Committee and many more organizations.   She gave so much of herself to her family and community that having a scholarship in her memory is a wonderful way to remember her. The scholarship is a $500.00 scholarship and the scholarship is to be awarded to an outstanding female varsity athletic.Daryn Herman

Laura Dean Scholarship Memorial Scholarship—established in March 2001 through a bequest of funding from the estate of a former Fairview Park teacher and former Fairview High principal, Laura Dean. Ms. Dean’s teaching and administrative career in the Fairview Park Schools began in 1929 and lasted for 45 years. Her first assignment was teaching mathematics to elementary students and later serving as the second principal of Fairview High School. It was at her request that the scholarship awards be given to young women pursuing careers in mathematics or in the field of applied mathematics. There are two $1,000.00 scholarships being awarded to two deserving graduating female seniors.Rebecca Daso and Elizabeth Klag

Gilles-Sweet Elementary School Education Major Scholarship—one $500.00 scholarship is given to a graduating senior who plans to pursue a career in the Education field and have shown good academic ability and leadership while in high school. Jaclyn Black

Fred J. & Betty J. Helwig Scholarship—a scholarship given in their parents’ honor by the Helwig children. The scholarship was created in 1999 and funded each year by the Helwig children. The two scholarships of $1,000 each are awarded to hard-working students who demonstrate initiative, self-motivation and a desire to achieve. In addition to the scholarship award, the scholarship recipient’s names will be added to a permanent plaque that hangs in the Fairview High School halls to commemorate this award. Christine Burger & Jordan Naeem

Mary Hoertz Memorial Scholarship—a $250.00 scholarship is given to a graduating senior who has shown leadership, community involvement, school participation and academic ability.  Nader Shihada

Robert V. Kundmueller Memorial Scholarship— This scholarship was established in 1998 by the Kundmueller Family and has been funded through the proceeds from the Foundation’s previous fundraiser, the Robert V. Kundmueller Memorial Golf Tournament.   This fundraiser ran for eighteen years with proceeds totaling over $100,000. Bob Kundmueller was the Education Foundation’s founding treasurer and trustee in addition to being a local business owner in the City of Fairview Park for many years. Having six children who were educated in the Fairview Park City School System, Bob was a strong advocate and supporter of the Fairview schools. He belonged to numerous civic organizations and was a past FP Citizen of the Year recipient. Rachel Aldrich

Lewis F. Mayer Memorial Scholarship—a $500.00 scholarship is awarded to an outstanding Fairview High School senior, in memory of Mr. Mayer, a humanitarian of Fairview Park, an educator, principal and the first superintendent of the Fairview Park Schools, serving from 1921 to 1964. Lisa Gillmore

Medical Mutual Scholarship—this $500.00 scholarship was established in 2008 and is made available through the Health Insurance Plan that the Fairview Park City School District participates in. This is a yearly scholarship awarded to a student with both a combined outstanding academic achievement and economic need. Donny Hosta

Nelson Russ Memorial Scholarship—established in 2001 by Mrs. Fern Russ, in memory of her late husband, Nelson. Mr. Russ served as the Recreational Director for Fairview Park, served on the Fairview Park City Council and was one of our City’s Citizens of the Year. Mr. Russ served three decades on the faculty at Fairview High and distinguished himself as Fairview High School’s first Varsity football coach. The $500.00 scholarship is given for academic and athletic excellence, preferably in the sport of football. Joshua Behm

Vern G. Rollin Environmental Science Scholarship—a $500.00 scholarship created and funded by Mr. Vern Rollin, a Fairview Park resident since 1943. Mr. Rollin was an engineer at NASA and taught in the Fairview Park Schools for 25 years. The scholarship is awarded to a graduating Fairview High School senior who is interested in pursuing a career in the environmental sciences. Calley Taylor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *